Twenty fifteen, you were swell

It’s that time of year again (the end of the year) where we all wonder where the time has gone and admire all our glorious accomplishments (or not). A year ago I was living in a strange land (Chicago suburbs), working in a mythical place (asphalt plant), and running like a champ (… at sea-level). Now, I’m a one-semester-complished PhD student at CU-Boulder prepping for classes and TAing and planning my next six months of research, writing and conferences. Twenty fifteen, you were swell–so here it is, my year in review.

January Twenty Fifteen

Month of the most boring Super Bowl of all the Super Bowls… but that Puppy Bowl was serious business.

And yes, I’m still a bitter Packers fan.

February Twenty Fifteen

Month of Wisconsin Men’s Basketball making us all damn proud and Mike buying me a heart-shaped deep dish pizza (because he knows the real way to a midwestern girl’s heart).

wIMULzC - Imgur.gif

Taking down Kentucky was one of the best games I have ever seen, and being in Madison for the craziness that followed made that game even more special. Yeah, my guys lost the championship game to one of my most hated teams (Duke, I hate you), but we were one proud Wisconsin fan-base after that hell-of-a-run.

And heart-shaped deep dish pizza? I bet your boyfriend doesn’t buy you heart-shaped deep dish pizza.

March Twenty Fifteen

Month of deciding to frolic off to the mountains for graduate school at CU-Boulder.

maxresdefault

Source: CU-Boulder

It took one day on campus for me to decide that I absolutely had to come here to get my PhD. Okay, so probably more like 30 min talking with my advisor… but who can pass up that view!?! (Sorry, Wyoming and CSU).

April Twenty Fifteen

Month of “OMG I FINALLY GOT THE SEE THE HIMALAYA MOUNTAINS IN REAL LIFE!”

IMG_0545

It was almost a spur of the moment decision for Mike and I to join this trek in Nepal, but we are both so glad that we did. I mean, look at those giant icy beauties!

May Twenty Fifteen

Month of peace out suckinois.

illinois-worst-state-ever-t-shirts

I love Chicago and really liked my jobs (minus the working in the steel mills and an asphalt plant), but the suburbs… not the most exciting scenery for a newly graduated outdoorsy 20-year old. It may not really be the “worst state ever,” but I wouldn’t wish the drive south through the state on anyone (except maybe my worst enemy).

June Twenty Fifteen

Month of “I can’t believe I actually live here! It’s like a painting! Seriously… like a real life painting” … oh and moving in with Mike… and living through him buying a couch (#adultmoves)… and learning to run again (at altitude).

ikea-brooklyn-warehouse-aisles

(1) Boulder is absolutely beautiful. I still can’t get enough of the amazing views I get to look at every day.

(2) Mike doesn’t like making decisions. And when he has to make a big decision… things get hilarious. Hours of research, mostly him not being able to decide what he wanted and where he wanted it from, and four trips to IKEA later, he finally managed to buy his couch (because he couldn’t fit himself on the normal-size people couch I already owned).

(3) Running at altitude is hard.

July Twenty Fifteen

Month of making friends with the ICP-MS.

While not the exact machine I made nice with over the summer, the photo above is pretty similar looking to the behemoth I spent most of July learning how not to break.

August Twenty Fifteen

Month of hiking and making friends with real [geology] people.

11227409_10204624537924681_7968453440204368304_o

Hiking in Colorado is like a fairly tale–for my eyeballs not my lungs. And there’s nothing like bagging some 14ers with some awesome geology ladies (Left-Ice, Middle (me)-Marine, Right-Beavers).

September Twenty Fifteen

Month of learning how to (and how not to) TA… or just starting to.

phd120810s

Source: “Piled Higher and Deeper” by Jorge Cham. http://www.phdcomics.com

I swear I’m not a nazi-TA. Hopefully.

October Twenty Fifteen

Month of “what am I doing again?”

yika5xdet

Embarrassing myself (slightly) at my first committee meeting, losing my mind (slightly) finishing my NSF GRFP proposal, writing my very first mid-term exam ever… grad school is fun! (It is guys, don’t worry).

November Twenty Fifteen

Month of Harry Potter world and butter beer and family and food and turning 1/4 of a century old.

16fd93517c1952be_harry-potter-butterbeer-xxxlarge

Because the most important moment of this whole month couldn’t be anything school related after my glorious day (really a few hours) spent at Harry Potter world drinking my grand ole one butter beer (it was glorious). A girl can only hope she’s as cool as Hermione.

Seeing the DiGiovacchino family was obviously more exciting than butter beer. I think they still like me. But I’m never participating in a vodka tasting again.

Getting older is weird.

December Twenty Fifteen

Month of “how do my students still not know what a sedimentary rock is?” and eating my weight in lefse. Oh and selfies with Amber.

12354084_162345157455111_311516472_n

The dog is Amber. She sort of loves me.

Final exam grades were depressing. Lefse made it better.

Amber is the cutest dog who has ever lived (all six pounds of her). And now that she’s toothless, she rocks the Marnie look from time to time.

 

Fare-thee-well twenty fifteen.

Leave a Reply

