Farting around

In the wise words of the the greatest writer to ever live: “I tell you, we are here on earth to fart around, and don’t let anybody tell you any different.” Kurt Vonnegut was a magician with all his words (and if you’ve never read any of books, drop everything you’re doing immediately and proceed to arguably his greatest masterpiece: Slaughterhouse Five… or Cat’s Cradle… or in my opinion The Sirens of Titan), but this particular quote from A Man Without a Country, is one of my all time favorites. Per the ultimate source on odd words and phrases (Urban Dictionary), farting around can be defined as “The act or process of wandering aimlessly with no particular goal.” And like Kurt Vonnegut, I am a firm believer in farting around.

farting aroundMost of us spend our adult lives chasing something. A job. A house. A beautifully written thesis in paleoceanography on El Nino Southern Oscillation during the Last Glacial Maximum. We become so focused on one thing for so long that we forget to look around. We forget what it’s like to explore with no plan. We forget what it feels like to get lost (and afraid) only to discover something absolutely amazing. Growing up shouldn’t have to mean we have to leave our farting around behind. In fact, I think it means we need to quite a bit more of it.

Now, I’m a planner (I got that from my momma), and I’m late if I’m not five minutes early. I hate running behind schedule and I don’t really “go with the flow.” I freak out about all things future, and my closest friends know they have to work hard to find the spontaneous buried under all my layers of “guys, I was just going to sit on the couch tonight.” Farting around does not come naturally to me. I have to remind myself that some of my greatest accomplishments in life have come from wandering aimlessly, and I really need to do it more.

Fart around somewhere strange. Go somewhere unexpected. Hang out with people you just met. Try something totally new with absolutely no reason for doing so. If you don’t know where you’re going, don’t freak out (or do it spectacularly). Lots of wonderful things came from periods in my life when I wasn’t sure what I was doing, or where I was going. Farting around brought me to science. It sent me to East Africa (to the ultimate surprise of literally every single member of my family) to study abroad. It even lead me to CU-Boulder and to working with my fantastically brilliant advisor.

But farting around doesn’t have to be all about big life decisions. Let yourself procrastinate a little. Spend some time digging up obscure facts on the interwebs. Go running without your glasses. Get lost in the Canadian wilderness snow-covered swamp land (the best way to make friends… and boyfriends). Go on a trip with people you don’t know in a place you’ve never been. Just do it… fart around that is.

#happyfarting

Leave a Reply

